“I need to grow a beard to be taken seriously” a female MP from AKP

For Turkish: http://www.hurriyet.com.tr/gundem/23654209.asp

 

AKP’s MP from Kayseri, Pelin Gundes Bakir, has tweeted that she had, during a party outside in Kizilcahamam in 2011, expressed her predictions of a military coup in Egypt. Her tweet where she reminds her reaction to the events also said “A group of 15 party members had laughed out loud. I am sorry to have been proven right. For some reason nobody took seriously a woman mentioning the possibility of a coup in Egypt. To be taken seriously I need to immediately grow a beard”

Reaction to the military take-over in Egypt continues. AKP’s MP from Kayseri, Pelin Gunes Bakir, who has evaluated the events through the social media site Twitter, spoke that she previously warned her party members, however some had laughed at her. Bakir’s comments on Egypt through Twitter is as follows:

“Sometimes my predictions of foreign policy scare even myself. In October 2011, at the Council of Europe’s parliamentary Assembly in Strasbourg I spoke of a possible coup in Egypt in the next couple of years. I warned to take precautions against this threat. My political assumption of a coup in Egypt took place exactly a year and half later.

You can access the full text of my speech on Council of Europe’s minutes dated October 2011 on http://www.coe.int . In November 2011, during AKP’s Kizilcahamam outside, I reiterated that a coup can take place in Egypt in the next couple of years. During this speech a group of 15 party members had laughed out loud. I am sorry to have been proven right.”

Leave a Reply

